Reflecting on Presenting at Shaking Up Learning #RCSULC14

Yesterday I presented at the Shaking Up Learning Conference at Stoney Creek High School.  What a day!  I especially enjoyed the the first keynote speaker Will Richardson. He presented a thought provoking presentation about how technology is changing education.  He stressed that for educators, change was not an option.  We are living in a changing world and education needs to reflect this so as to prepare our students for their futures.  When it comes to technology and teaching, I couldn’t help but think, “Get on board or get out of the way!”

I’m on board! I’ve been on board! I’m enjoying the ride! I love using technology in my classroom! I feel that it allows me to be creative in how I teach.  Now if I could only get some of my other colleagues I work with on board…

Displaying photo.JPGI think one step in the right direction is by sharing how I use technology in my classroom.  My presentation, Staying Connected, presented tech tools, tips and research for how to use technology to stay connected with students’ parents.  I was a bit nervous but once I started talking I relaxed.  I was surprised to find how comfortable I was in front of a crowd. I guess it makes sense though. I present to students day in and day out right!? Anyway, I began my presentation by talking about what research has to say about why connecting with our students’ parents can be such a challenge (HERE to see what I talked about). I then presented tools for creating a website, blogging, sending text message reminders and social media. The use of these tools can help teachers better connect with their students’ parents. My goal was for people to leave my presentation thinking, “I could do that!” or “That was a good idea!” I feel that I accomplished that goal based on the feedback I received. Not only that, I now feel more confident in my ability to push for the use of technology at my school.  Below you will find my session handout.

Staying Connected Handout

Leave a Reply

