Constructivism

I really enjoyed our discussions on cognitive processes and learning today. I have a B.A. in Psychology, so I had some prior knowledge to draw on…Especially when we discussed how information becomes part of our long term memory. However, I guess I had not until now (or since I did the readings last night) thought about how these cognitive processes apply to learning. In other words, I never really linked my previous psychological knowledge with my educational knowledge. It makes complete sense and I am a bit frustrated that I have not had this revelation sooner! Did my prior knowledge help me with TE courses? Does it help me daily when I teach? Now that I am thinking about it (meta-cognitive processes!) it most likely did. Today’s class peaked my interest once again and I feel like I have come full circle in my educational career. I am looking forward to reengaging my previous knowledge to help me understand/comprehend the new concepts I will learn in this course.

Leave a Reply

